Board of Aldermen Meeting Minutes

JANUARY 3, 2017

Mayor Jan Lehmkuhl called the regular Board meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. on January 3, 2017.

Board members present: Jan Lehmkuhl, Mayor; Troy Watts, Jerry Kane, Deanna Monnig and William Wagner, Aldermen.  Also in attendance: City Clerk Deborah Cox, Kacie Brake and Ronald Brake.

Mayor Jan Lehmkuhl gave the invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag.

Motion made by Troy Watts and seconded by Jerry Kane to approve the consent agenda as presented which includes the minutes from the last meetings.  Vote taken.  Unanimously approved.

Kacie and Ronald Brake, 102 Staeger, asked the Board to consider adjusting their water bill due to an unknown water leak.  After discussion, the Board told them if they could pay the past due amount, their water would not be shut off until they talked with the owner to make sure the leak had been fixed.  Motion made by Jerry Kane and seconded by William Wagner to set this over 

until the next meeting on January 17, 2017.  The Brake's are to show proof the leak has been fixed before the Board will make a decision on adjusting their account.  Vote taken, Unanimously approved.

Motion made by Troy Watts and seconded by Jerry Kane to pay the bills after they are reviewed and signed.  Vote taken.  Unanimous.

Mayor Lehmkuhl presented a proclamation request that had been sent to her.  The Proclamation would officially commemorate January 22-28, 2017 as "City of Ash Grove School Choice Week".  After discussion , the Board agreed that this proclamation was not needed for our community.


January 17, 2017 will be the last day to sign up for the two Board positions on the April 4, 2017 Municipal Election.

DNR Water System Engineering Services Grant-not needed at this time

Review Pool Manager Contract for 2017 Season-will present for approval on January 17, 2017 meeting.

  • Having no further business to discuss, Troy Watts made a motion to adjourn at 7:45 p.m. with Deanna Monnig giving the second.  Vote was unanimous.  Motion carried.
  • Deborah A Cox, City Clerk